Tags

, , , , ,

Hello my loyal followers! Momma Bear here with a tasty weeknight meal for you. You all know me well by my deeeeeeelish-from-scratch meals and treats that can be a bit time consuming. What you don’t know is that I’m also a full time working healthcare professional in addition to being Chef Mom! Some nights I’m way too tired for something involved, but I don’t want my family to eat lots of boxed junk. So, this meal is a happy medium!

My mom worked too while my sister Michelle and I were in school, and has quite a few recipes that can be whipped up on a weeknight and make us feel like she slaved in the kitchen all day for us. No matter what was going on during Mom’s day, in her life, how she felt, or how busy she was, she still made sure my sister and I felt loved every single day. When we would get off the bus from school, she would stop whatever she was doing and sit with us in the living room to listen to us talk all about our days. No matter how trivial what we had to say was, she still listened intently and cared about every single thing we told her. She had a full set of Pfaltzgraf dishes she used daily and one plate from the set printed with “I Am Special Today” that we got to use when it was our birthdays. Little things that she’s done over the years to make Michelle and I feel special are the things I do now for my children. Michelle and I are the people we are today because of all she did.

Thanks Mom. ❤

image1 (2)

(PS- Michelle and I BOTH ended up as healthcare professionals!)

Anyway, here’s one of the meals she often made that I still love to this day!

image1 (1)

Chicken Divan

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cubed
1 pkg frozen broccoli
1 can cream of chicken soup
1/4 cup sherry cooking wine
1 cup instant rice
1 cup water
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
Fresh grated Parmesan Cheese

image3 (1)

Brown cubed chicken in oil in a large skillet. Add in broccoli and wine, breaking up broccoli as it thaws in the hot pan. Stir in cream of chicken soup, then the water and rice. Let simmer over medium heat 7-10 mins until water is absorbed. Top with parmesan cheese when serving!

image6

Note: The original recipe calls for instant rice. However, I almost never have instant rice on hand and I’m not really a fan. Instead, I prefer to use my rice cooker, and then stir cooked rice into the dish (minus half the water) instead.

image5

Yum!

#30minutemeal #weeknightmeal #easymeal #quickmeal #chicken #broccoli #rice #foodnetwork #cookingchannel #reedrummond #rachaelray #mealonabudget