Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I know what you’re thinking. Swedish Meatballs? Really Momma Bear? Everybody and their grandmother has a recipe for this. While this is true, I guarantee none of those are quite like this one. Really.

I know I yap incessantly about the recipes handed down through the generations on my wonderful mother’s side, but out of all the ones I’ve enjoyed through the years, this one is by far my favorite! (Just ask the original, Momma Lutton!) In fact, each year on our birthdays, Mom would let us choose our birthday dinners. We loved this! Most people go out for birthday dinners. While I had the option to do this, I always preferred to stay home with my family and be spoiled by Mom’s cooking on my special day. And usually, I chose this!

There are a few key ingredients and steps in this recipe that are what really makes it a cut above the rest. The onions, nutmeg, ginger, and ESPECIALLY soaking the bread crumbs in the light cream are crucial to the unique and delicious palate pleaser this dish foodgasms you with! And well, who doesn’t love a creamy sauce made from sour cream?

All I have to say is…

You’re welcome.

Momma Lutton’s Swedish Meatballs

For the meatballs:
1 lb ground meatloaf mix (beef, pork, and veal)
1 cup unseasoned breadcrumbs
1 cup light cream
1 Tbsp
1/2 cup diced onion
1 egg
1/4 cup parsley
2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground ginger
Dash nutmeg

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large mixing bowl, soak the bread crumbs in the light cream for approximately 5 minutes.

Sautee the onion in butter, then add to the bowl with the bread crumbs. Add in all of the rest of the ingredients, and mix with your hands until smooth.Roll into balls and place in a 9×13 baking dish. Cook slowly, about 30 minutes. Once cooked, remove meatballs and scrape all drippings into a large but deep skillet to make gravy.

For the gravy:
2 Tbsp flour
3/4 cup beef broth
1/4 cup water
1 cup sour cream

In the large deep skillet over medium heat with the scraped drippings, stir in flour and cook 2 minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients, stir together. Place the cooked meatballs into the skillet and cook in the gravy slowly for another 15-20 minutes. This is fabulous served over rice!

FullSizeRender (12)

Yum!

#cooking #comfortfood #swedishmeatballs #meatballs #sourcream #familyrecipe #sundaydinner #foodnetwork #cookingchannel #bobbyflay #anneburrell #scottconant #giadadelaurentis #inagarten #reedrummond